Time to write!

Well, it has been awhile! The title of the post has two meanings. The first is for my excitement at the chance to write a new blog post. My time has been limited due to work and family. My son was born! He now has a clean bill of health from our doctors but we had to admit him to the hospital for 10 days. That was pretty taxing on the whole family and I was coding into the wee hours in the hospital room. This was a time I won’t soon forget as I learned a lot about javaScript, and that pretty much explains the second meaning, that I actually have a little time this weekend to put some experiences into words.

With that, I’ll get started!

Long nights at the hospital were made bearable thanks to TheNetNinja’s javaScript Tutorials. I was able to get a good grasp on some new (and old) concepts and I anointed myself “done” with beginner tutorials It gave me the gumption to start the Random Quote Machine for freeCodeCamp.com‘s intermediate projects, which I have since completed.

CodePen – Random Quote Machine

I was very happy with it on the desktop but when I view it on my cell phone, I realize it is not responsive and the text is too large. I’m looking into media queries now to address this issue (which I will also incorporate into my Show Local Weather project, below).

CodePen – Show Local Weather – I am trying to understand why it doesn’t look right on CodePen, but it looks good on my own site:

Hosted site – Show Local Weather – Looks good here on my iphone6.

I only have the unit conversion functionality left to code and that shouldn’t be too difficult. PLEASE give me some feedback on my projects, I can use all the design ideas I can get!  Thanks again for reading!

Leave a Reply

